Taipei has a lot of screening centers, and most comparisons of them are opinion. Taiwan actually publishes two registers you can check yourself. One is hospital accreditation, run by the Joint Commission of Taiwan. The other is a certification for the health check-up service specifically, which is the one almost nobody outside Taiwan knows exists.
This article explains what each register covers, what the law means when it calls a place a clinic rather than a hospital, and which screening tier is currently delivered at which Taipei facility. The advice at the end is short, because most of the useful work is checking rather than choosing.
Is a Taipei screening center a hospital or a clinic?
Taiwan's Medical Care Act draws the line by beds, not by size or reputation. Article 12 states that medical care institutions "with wards for the inpatient care of patients shall be referred to as hospitals; those with only out-patient facilities shall be referred to as clinics".
The same article caps what a clinic may operate. A clinic "may set up no more than nine beds for observation", and a gynecology clinic no more than ten obstetric beds. So a facility calling itself a clinic is not necessarily small or basic. It is a facility that does not admit patients overnight.
That distinction matters less for a screening appointment than people assume. A screening visit is an outpatient event. You arrive, you are scanned and sampled, and you leave the same day. Inpatient capacity is not part of what you are buying.
It starts to matter when something is found. A hospital with wards, an emergency department, and its own specialists can move a finding into treatment inside one institution. A standalone screening clinic refers you out. Neither is wrong. They are different products. Our guide to Taiwan's four hospital tiers explains how the wider system sorts facilities once you need treatment rather than a check-up.
What does Taiwan's hospital accreditation actually cover?
It covers hospitals as institutions, so a facility that is legally a clinic does not appear in it at all.
Taiwan began accrediting hospitals in 1978, initially for teaching hospitals providing practicum for medical students. The Ministry of Health and Welfare extended accreditation to hospitals at all levels in 1988. Since 1999 the program has been run by the Joint Commission of Taiwan, an independent body founded by the then Department of Health together with the Taiwan Hospital Association and others.
Accreditation is valid for four years. The Joint Commission reports accredited counts of 415 hospitals, 136 teaching hospitals, 43 psychiatry hospitals, 10 psychiatric teaching hospitals, and 4 children's hospitals. The Joint Commission is itself accredited by the International Society for Quality in Healthcare in organization, standards, and surveyor training.
Two limits are worth knowing before you use accreditation as a shortcut. The first is the one above. It accredits hospitals, so a legally constituted clinic is outside its scope entirely.
The second limit is what it assesses. The Joint Commission describes its focus as having shifted from infrastructure toward "the process and outcome of services provided". A hospital can be accredited without that saying anything specific about its health check-up department.
Is there a certification for the health check-up itself?
Yes, and this is the register worth learning. The Joint Commission of Taiwan launched its Health Check-Up Certification program in 2011. Unlike hospital accreditation, it looks at the check-up service, and the Joint Commission says the process "aims to look at the health check-up process from a recipient's perspective".
The Chinese-language register describes what the certification emphasizes: the institution's professional competence and the accuracy of results, transparency of the examination items and their fees, environmental safety including infection risk control, and the weight the institution gives to examinee feedback and privacy.
The register is public. It listed 33 currently certified institutions when checked on 9 September 2026, across the whole of Taiwan, with each certification carrying its own validity dates.
Here is how that maps onto the Taipei facilities that deliver our screening tiers. Read the caveats under the table before drawing conclusions from it.
| Facility | District | On the Health Check-Up Certification register, 9 September 2026 |
| Eonway Health Management | Wanhua | Yes, under its operating hospital, Xiyuan Hospital (Wanhua), valid to 31 July 2029 |
| Cathay Health Management, Dunnan | Da'an | Yes, for Fulin Clinic, one of the three clinics forming the Dunnan center, valid to 31 August 2027 |
| Cathay Health Management, Neihu | Neihu | Yes, for Ruicheng Clinic, one of the three clinics forming the Neihu center, valid to 31 January 2027 |
| Central Clinic and Hospital Healthcare Center | Da'an | Not listed |
| Beitou Health Management Hospital | Beitou | Not listed |
| iHope Clinic | Xinyi | Not listed |
Three caveats apply to that table, and they are load-bearing.
- The program is voluntary, so absence is not a finding about quality.
- The register shows currently valid certifications only, so a lapsed one does not appear.
- The Joint Commission runs several other certification programs that this register does not cover.
What the register is genuinely good for is a question you can ask. If a facility is certified, ask which entity holds the certification and when it expires. If it is not, ask what external review its check-up service has had instead.
What does each Taipei center say about itself?
Each of these facilities publishes its own account. The table below summarizes what they state, with the sources listed at the end.
| Facility | Operator or backing it names | English-language service it states | Facilities, equipment and staff it names |
| iHope Clinic, Xinyi |
A working alliance with a nearby major medical institution |
Not stated |
Hospital-grade one-stop clinic with four centers: specialist outpatient care, precision health screening, anti-aging aesthetics, dialysis |
| Cathay Health Management, Dunnan and Neihu |
A subsidiary within the Cathay Real Estate Development Group. Cathay General Hospital is described as medical-resource backing, not owner. |
Not stated |
Each center is a group of licensed clinics. Screening separated from clinical treatment space. Laboratory processes accredited by TAF. RFID-based flow management. |
| Central Clinic and Hospital Healthcare Center, Da'an |
States it has served patients since 1973 |
International Medical Service Center with an English- and Mandarin-speaking coordinator, escort to appointments, and interpretation. Reports in Chinese and English on request. |
Draws on the hospital's imaging department for CT, MRI, endoscopy and bone density |
| Eonway Health Management, Wanhua |
Built and operated since 2004 by Xiyuan Hospital, which it describes as having operated for more than fifty years |
States it communicates with international guests in English throughout, and provides an English-language report where needed |
Names Canon MRI and CT systems on its equipment page |
| Beitou Health Management Hospital, Beitou |
Operates jointly with Hotel Royal Beitou in the Xinbeitou hot spring district, under the Taipei International Medical Travel brand |
Not stated |
Announces upgraded MRI and spectral CT systems for 2026. Physician roster described as drawn from major Taiwanese medical centers. |
How do you get to each one?
District and transport are the part of this comparison that is unambiguous. The Taipei Metro operates five numbered lines plus the Circular Line. The stations below are the ones each facility names on its own transport page.
| Facility | Nearest station, as the facility states it | Line |
| iHope Clinic | Taipei 101/World Trade Center, or Xinyi Anhe, then walk | Tamsui-Xinyi Line |
| Cathay Health Management, Dunnan | Liuzhangli, about a 5 to 7 minute walk | Wenhu Line |
| Cathay Health Management, Neihu | Gangqian, about a 10 minute walk | Wenhu Line |
| Eonway Health Management | Longshan Temple, then a bus to Xiyuan Road Section 2 | Bannan Line |
| Beitou Health Management Hospital | Xinbeitou, about a 2 minute walk | Tamsui-Xinyi Line |
| Central Clinic and Hospital Healthcare Center | Not published in readable form on its own site. It is on Zhongxiao E. Road Section 4 in Da'an District. | Ask when booking |
Which screening tier is available where?
For most tiers there is currently one operator, not a choice between several. This is the honest part of the comparison, and it changes the question. You are usually choosing a tier, and the location follows from it.
| Tier | Price | Listed duration | Where it is delivered |
| Convenient | $299 | 1.5 hours | iHope Clinic, Xinyi |
| Essential | $699 | 3.5 hours | Cathay Health Management, Dunnan or Neihu |
| Standard | $1,199 | Full day | Cathay Health Management, Dunnan or Neihu |
| Light | $1,399 | 2 hours | Central Clinic and Hospital Healthcare Center, Da'an |
| Complete | $1,699 | 2.5 hours | Central Clinic and Hospital Healthcare Center, Da'an |
| Premium | $1,699 | 5 hours | Eonway Health Management, Wanhua |
| Plus | $3,099 | 3.5 hours | Central Clinic and Hospital Healthcare Center, Da'an |
| Advanced | $3,499 | 6 hours | Beitou Health Management Hospital, Beitou |
Two tiers share the $1,699 price and differ in kind. Complete is an imaging-led package built on a full body MRI with added DEXA and coronary calcium scoring. Premium is a holistic package built on full-body diagnostics with lung and cardiac CT. They sit at different facilities and answer different questions.
One scheduling detail is worth knowing before you plan. Our record for the Convenient package states that it is available on Wednesdays or Thursdays only.
Some named Taipei centers have no bookable screening package through us at all. Lianan Wellness Center, Cheng Hsin Health Management Center, and Dianthus Health Management currently have no active screening package in our catalogue. If you have read about them elsewhere, that is why you will not find them on our booking pages.
What this costs in Taipei
The prices in the table above are the full catalogue prices, in US dollars, and one package sells for one price wherever it is delivered.
Beitou also carries several variants above the Advanced tier, including an Advanced package with brain MRA at $3,799 and a version with digestive endoscopy at $5,799. Every current tier and its inclusions are listed on our packages page.
If you want the full-day comparison across tiers rather than across facilities, our Taiwan full body checkup cost guide covers that.
How far ahead should you book?
Plan on a few weeks of notice for most screenings. Some need longer, and some can be arranged quickly, so a single number would be wrong for every tier it did not describe.
- Pick the tier first. The facility follows from it in almost every case.
- Check the live booking calendar, which always shows the true earliest available date.
- Confirm the slot before you book the flight, not after.
- If your dates are tight, ask anyway. Arrangements are made case by case.
The bottom line
The tribal advice about teaching hospitals versus international centers is answering a question about inpatient care. That is not the question you are asking when you book a screening.
Check the Health Check-Up Certification register, read what the facility publishes about its own equipment and English-language service, and look at where it is on the Metro map. Then choose the tier, because in Taipei today the tier usually decides the facility.
If you are unsure which tier matches your history, that decision belongs to you and a physician, not to a comparison table.
Sources