Central Clinic and Hospital Healthcare Center is the only place in our network that sells the Light, Complete and Plus tiers. Eighteen items are bookable there, eight of them packages. It is not the only facility with MRI: Beitou carries the Advanced packages that include a brain MRA, and a standalone brain MRA is bookable there too.
Prices run from $109 for a DEXA scan to $3,099 for the Plus package. One thing to settle first: the name contains the word Hospital, and our record classifies the facility as a clinic. Both are accurate, and the difference is defined by statute.
What can you book at Central Clinic, and what does it cost?
Eighteen items, at these prices and these listed appointment lengths.
| Bookable item | Price | Listed length | Booked as |
|---|---|---|---|
| DEXA Scan | $109 | 20 minutes | Add-on |
| Central Clinic Ultrasounds, Custom | $115 | 20 minutes | Standalone |
| Heart Calcium Score CT Scan | $209 | 30 minutes | Add-on |
| Single Region CT Scan | $210 | 30 minutes | Add-on |
| Comprehensive Blood Work Panel | $249 | Not stated | Add-on |
| Single Region MRI Scan, no contrast | $310 | 1 hour | Add-on |
| Convenient Pro Holistic Exam | $399 | 2 hours | Add-on |
| Upper Endoscopy and Colonoscopy | $499 | 1 hour | Standalone |
| Digestive: Upper Endoscopy and Colonoscopy | $499 | 1 hour | Add-on |
| Single Region MRI Scan, with contrast | $550 | 1 hour | Standalone |
| Comprehensive Breast Imaging | $619 | 1 hour | Standalone |
| Comprehensive Breast Imaging | $619 | Not stated | Add-on |
| Whole Spine MRI | $699 | 1 hour | Standalone |
| Brain MRA | $699 | Not stated | Add-on |
| Coronary CT | $899 | Not stated | Add-on |
| Light | $1,399 | 2 hours | Standalone |
| Complete | $1,699 | 2.5 hours | Standalone |
| Plus | $3,099 | 3.5 hours | Standalone |
Prices are in US dollars and are the full catalogue price. Comprehensive Breast Imaging appears twice because it exists both as a booking on its own and as an add-on to another appointment, at the same price.
Is Central Clinic a hospital or a clinic?
Our record classifies it as a clinic, and Taiwan's Medical Care Act draws that line by inpatient beds rather than by size or reputation.
| Label | Where it comes from | What it establishes |
|---|---|---|
| Hospital, inside the name | The facility's own trading name | Nothing legal |
| Clinic | Our provider record | How we classify the facility |
| Hospital | Medical Care Act, Article 12 | Has wards for inpatient care |
| Clinic | Medical Care Act, Article 12 | Out-patient only, up to nine observation beds |
Article 12 states that institutions with wards for the inpatient care of patients are hospitals, and those with only out-patient facilities are clinics. The same article caps a clinic at nine observation beds.
So a clinic is not necessarily small or basic. It is a facility that does not admit you overnight. For a screening appointment that distinction changes little, because you arrive, you are scanned and sampled, and you leave the same day.
It starts to matter if something is found. Our guide to Taiwan's hospital tiers explains how the wider system sorts facilities once you need treatment rather than a check-up.
Which full-body MRI packages are delivered here?
All three of them, and they are cumulative rather than alternatives.
| Package | Price | Listed length | What our record adds over the tier below |
|---|---|---|---|
| Light | $1,399 | 2 hours | Full body MRI, low-dose lung CT, two ultrasounds |
| Complete | $1,699 | 2.5 hours | Adds DEXA and coronary artery calcium |
| Plus | $3,099 | 3.5 hours | Adds CT angiography, brain MRA, carotid ultrasound |
Our record describes Light as the baseline package for a radiation-free full body MRI scan, and in the same sentence says it also includes a low-dose lung CT and two ultrasounds. Read that carefully. The MRI is radiation-free. The package is not, because a CT uses ionizing radiation. It names the areas screened as head, neck, chest, abdomen, pelvis, spine and lung health.
Complete is described as the Light package with targeted scans added, covering cancer detection, heart health, lung health, body composition and bone density.
Plus is described as everything in Light and Complete with specialized vascular imaging added, aimed at stroke, aneurysm and heart disease screening.
The step from Light to Complete is $300. The step from Complete to Plus is $1,400, and it buys vascular imaging rather than more of the same.
What does the evidence say about imaging-led screening?
It is mixed, and the strongest statement against this kind of product comes from the FDA.
| Component | Body and year | Position |
|---|---|---|
| Whole-body CT screening | FDA | No evidence of more benefit than harm without symptoms |
| Low dose lung CT | USPSTF, 2021 | Grade B, ages 50 to 80, 20 pack-year history |
| Heart calcium score | NHLBI | Helps assess risk in people without heart symptoms |
| DEXA bone density | USPSTF, 2025 | Grade B for women 65 and older; insufficient in men |
| Breast MRI plus mammogram | American Cancer Society | Annual from age 30 at about 20 to 25 percent lifetime risk |
| Supplemental breast imaging | USPSTF, 2024 | Insufficient evidence after a normal mammogram |
| Colonoscopy | USPSTF, 2021 | Grade A, ages 50 to 75, every 10 years |
The FDA states that it knows of no scientific evidence that whole-body scanning of people without symptoms provides more benefit than harm. It also notes that an abnormal finding may not be serious and can prompt further unnecessary testing.
That statement is about CT, which uses ionizing radiation. The FDA separately says exposure to ionizing radiation may cause a small increase in lifetime cancer risk, and suggests considering examinations that use less or no radiation, such as ultrasound or MRI.
MRI does not use ionizing radiation, which is why our own record describes the MRI in the Light package as radiation-free. The low-dose lung CT bundled with it does use ionizing radiation, so the package as a whole is not radiation-free. It does not by itself establish a survival benefit from screening.
The American Cancer Society recommends against MRI screening for women whose lifetime breast cancer risk is below 15 percent. Whether any of this applies to you is a question for you and your physician.
What does our record not describe?
Six of the eighteen items have an empty description field. We can give you the title, the price and the appointment length, and nothing more.
- Central Clinic Ultrasounds, Custom, $115, 20 minutes
- Single Region CT Scan, $210, 30 minutes
- Single Region MRI Scan with contrast, $550, 1 hour
- Comprehensive Breast Imaging as a standalone booking, $619, 1 hour
- Whole Spine MRI, $699, 1 hour
- Convenient Pro Holistic Exam, $399, 2 hours
The contrast question is worth asking directly, because the same region costs $310 without contrast and $550 with it. Our explainer on when contrast dye is used in MRI and CT covers what the agent is for.
The endoscopy package is described. Our record says it includes anesthesia, a bowel preparation kit with instructions in English, low residue meal replacements, and a debrief with the gastroenterologist. Polyp and gastric ulcer biopsy fees are not included.
What is not available at Central Clinic through us?
Five of the eight screening tiers, and everything aesthetic.
| If you want | At Central Clinic | Where it is delivered |
|---|---|---|
| Convenient, $299 | Not available | iHope Clinic, Xinyi |
| Essential or Standard | Not available | Cathay Health Management |
| Premium, $1,699 | Not available | Eonway Health Management, Wanhua |
| Advanced, $3,499 | Not available | Beitou Health Management Hospital |
| Dermatology or aesthetics | Not available | Other partner clinics |
Complete and Premium share the $1,699 price and are different products at different facilities. Our comparison of Taipei screening centers sets out which tier is delivered where.
Is Central Clinic on Taiwan's certification registers?
No, and one of the two registers could not include it in any case.
Hospital accreditation has been run by the Joint Commission of Taiwan since 1999 and is valid for four years. It accredits hospitals as institutions, so a facility that is legally a clinic falls outside its scope entirely.
The second program is the one that could apply. The Joint Commission launched its Health Check-Up Program Certification in 2011 and describes it as looking at the check-up process from a recipient's perspective. Its register of currently certified institutions is public.
Central Clinic did not appear on that register when we checked it on 9 September 2026. Three caveats apply, and they matter.
- The program is voluntary, so absence from the register is not a finding about quality.
- The register shows currently valid certifications only, so a lapsed one does not appear.
- The Joint Commission runs other certification programs that this register does not cover.
Use the register to generate a question rather than a verdict. Ask what external review the check-up service has had, and ask to see the certificate.
How do you check this facility out before you book?
In five steps, and the first four can be run from your desk. Keep the CDC's own caution at the top of them: "Accreditation does not guarantee a good outcome."
The register check above is step one, and for a facility classified as a clinic it can only ever return one of the two schemes. The remaining four steps are where the answers come from.
- Separate the two Taiwanese certifications before you read either. Hospital accreditation, run by the Joint Commission of Taiwan since 1999, assesses institutions and cannot cover a facility that is legally a clinic. The Health Check-Up Program Certification, launched in 2011, assesses the check-up service instead, and its register of currently certified institutions is public.
- Verify the physician against the regulator, not the facility's own page. Under the Physicians Act a physician holds a certificate issued by the central competent authority, then registers with the municipal or county authority to obtain a practice license. Medical Care Act Article 20 requires that license to be displayed conspicuously.
- Get the quotation itemized in writing before you pay anything. Every test named with its own price, what the deposit is applied against, what is excluded, and the currency. Medical Care Act Article 22 requires receipts that clearly state the items and the fees.
- Ask what happens if there is a complication, at both ends. The CDC tells medical travelers to discuss the plan for addressing complications with their own clinician and the overseas provider before departure, and to confirm that insurance covers follow-up care after they return.
- Settle records before you fly. Medical Care Act Article 71 requires an institution to provide a copy of a patient's records on request, without delay or refusal, and Article 70 sets a retention period of at least seven years. The statute's wording covers a copy of the records or a Chinese summary, so ask for English specifically, as the CDC advises.
None of that is a judgment about quality. It is what makes a facility evaluable, which is the most a checklist can deliver.
Run the same five steps on any provider in any country. A facility that will not answer them in writing has told you something before you pay a deposit.
What does the facility publish about itself?
It publishes more in English than most Taipei screening centers do.
Its International Medical Service Center states that the institution has been serving patients since 1973 and offers language translation services. The healthcare center page names CT scans, MRI, gastrointestinal endoscopy and bone density testing among its equipment.
On reports, that page states they are available in both Chinese and English on request, and describes a service team fluent in English. That is the facility's own claim, published by the facility, and we have not verified it against anything else.
How do you get there?
Our record gives the address as 3rd Floor, 77 Zhongxiao East Rd, Da'an District, Taipei City, Taiwan 106, and instructs you to take the elevator to the 3rd floor for check-in.
The facility's own English page gives the address with the road section included, as No. 77, Sec. 4, Zhongxiao E. Rd., Da'an Dist., Taipei City 106441. Use that longer form for a map or a taxi driver.
We cannot tell you the nearest Metro station from a source. Neither our record nor the pages we could open on the facility's own site names one, and we are not going to guess. Ask when you book, and check the Taipei Metro route map for the line that serves your hotel.
Will you pay out of pocket?
Yes. Taiwan's National Health Insurance Act sets a residency test that a visitor cannot meet.
Article 9 opens enrollment to foreign nationals holding an alien resident certificate who have established a registered domicile in Taiwan for at least six months, or who hold regular employment. A short trip qualifies you for neither.
Two provisions of the Medical Care Act are useful at the counter. Article 22 requires receipts clearly stating the items and the fees. Article 20 requires the practice license and clinic hours to be displayed in a conspicuous place.
What this costs in Taipei
Light is $1,399, Complete is $1,699 and Plus is $3,099. Every current tier, add-on and price is listed on our packages page.
Your digital report arrives two to three weeks after the screening. An English physician debrief is available on request, so ask for it at the time you book.
How far ahead should you book?
Plan on a few weeks of notice for most screenings. Some need longer and some can be arranged quickly, so a single number would be wrong for most of them.
- Choose the tier first, because Light, Complete and Plus are delivered only here.
- Ask what an item with no description contains, before you pay for it.
- Ask whether you need contrast, since the same MRI region has two prices.
- Check the live booking calendar, which always shows the true earliest date.
- Confirm the slot before you book the flight, not after.
The bottom line
If you want a full-body MRI through us, this is the facility. The tier decides the location, not the other way around.
Take the FDA's position on scanning people without symptoms seriously before you buy the largest package. The strongest argument for imaging at this depth is a specific reason to look, not the completeness of the list.
Ask for the item list on the six products our record does not describe, and get your itemized receipt before you leave Taiwan. Whether you should be screened at all is a decision for you and your physician.
Sources
- Laws and Regulations Database of the Republic of China (Taiwan) — Medical Care Act, Articles 12, 20, 22, 70 and 71 (accessed 2026-09-09)
- Laws and Regulations Database of the Republic of China (Taiwan) — Physicians Act, Articles 1, 7 and 8 (accessed 2026-09-09)
- U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention — CDC Yellow Book, Medical Tourism (accessed 2026-09-09)
- Laws and Regulations Database of the Republic of China (Taiwan) — National Health Insurance Act, Article 9 (accessed 2026-09-09)
- Central Clinic and Hospital — International Medical Service Center (accessed 2026-09-09)
- Central Clinic and Hospital — Healthcare Center (accessed 2026-09-09)
- Joint Commission of Taiwan — Hospital Accreditation and Certification (accessed 2026-09-09)
- Joint Commission of Taiwan — Health Check-Up Program Certification (accessed 2026-09-09)
- Joint Commission of Taiwan — Health Check-Up Quality Certification, register of certified institutions (accessed 2026-09-09)
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration — Full-Body CT Scans: What You Need to Know (accessed 2026-09-09)
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration — Computed Tomography (CT) (accessed 2026-09-09)
- U.S. Preventive Services Task Force — Lung Cancer: Screening (accessed 2026-09-09)
- U.S. Preventive Services Task Force — Breast Cancer: Screening (accessed 2026-09-09)
- U.S. Preventive Services Task Force — Osteoporosis to Prevent Fractures: Screening (accessed 2026-09-09)
- U.S. Preventive Services Task Force — Colorectal Cancer: Screening (accessed 2026-09-09)
- American Cancer Society — Recommendations for the Early Detection of Breast Cancer (accessed 2026-09-09)
- National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute — Coronary Heart Disease: Diagnosis (accessed 2026-09-09)
- Taipei Rapid Transit Corporation — Network and Systems (accessed 2026-09-09)